RC17 - Comparative Public Opinion

To content | To menu | To search

Governance - Executive Commitee

Chair: Professor Christian W Haerpfer

Professor Haerpfer is Member of the Executive Committee of the International Political Science Association (IPSA) in Montreal (Canada). He is also Chair of the Research Committee No 17 on ‘Comparative Public Opinion’ of IPSA. Professor Haerpfer is President of the World Values Survey Association (WVSA) since 2013. The World Values Survey is the largest academic and large-scale cross-national survey in the social and political sciences and has been conducted in 108 countries in 6 waves since 1981. Professor Haerpfer is Director of the Institute for Comparative Survey Research -ICSR- and Director of the ‘Eurasia Barometer - EAB’ in Vienna (Austria) since 1990. Since 2003, Christian W Haerpfer is Research Professor of Political Science in the Department of Political Science at the University of Vienna (Austria). In the period 2004 – 2015, Dr Christian W Haerpfer was Full Professor of Political Science and holder of a Named Chair, the ‘Established First Chair in Politics’ in the Department of Politics and International Relations at the University of Aberdeen (United Kingdom). Christian W Haerpfer is currently Visiting Professor in Social and Political Sciences at the V.N.Karazin National University of Kharkiv (Ukraine). He has also been a Visiting Professor at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow (United Kingdom), Glasgow Caledonian University (United Kingdom), National University of Rwanda in Kigali and Butari (Rwanda), Hebrew University in Jerusalem (Israel), University of Kiev (Ukraine), Glasgow University (United Kingdom), CEU-Central European University in Prague (Czech Republic) and University of Salzburg (Austria). His books include “Democratization” at OUP - Oxford University Press: Oxford & New York 2009), which will be published in a second edition in 2017. In 1998, he published “Democracy and Its Alternatives. Understanding Post-Communist Societies” at Johns Hopkins University Press in Baltimore (USA). In 2002 he published “Democracy and Enlargement in Post-Communist Europe” at Routledge Publishers in London & New York.

Vice-Chair: Professor Yun-han Chu

Yun-han Chu is distinguished research fellow of the Institute of Political Science at Academia Sinica and professor of political science at National Taiwan University. He serves concurrently as president of Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation for International Scholarly Exchange. Prof. Chu received his Ph. D. in political science from the University of Minnesota and joined the faculty of National Taiwan University in 1987. He was a visiting associate professor at Columbia University in 1990-1991. He served as director of programs of the Institute for National Policy Research, Taiwan’s leading independent think tank, from 1989 to 1999. Prof. Chu specializes in politics of Greater China, East Asian political economy and democratization. He has been the coordinator of Asian Barometer Survey, a regional network of survey on democracy, governance and development covering more than seventeen Asian countries. Prof. Chu was former president of Chinese Association of Political Science (Taipei) in 2002–2004, a member of the International Council of the Asia Society between 2001 and 2007, and a member of the Council of the American Political Science Association (2009–2011). He was recently elected an academician of Academia Sinica, the country’s highest academic honor, in July 2012. He currently serves on the editorial board of Journal of Democracy, Pacific Affairs, China Review, Journal of Contemporary China, International Studies Perspectives, and Journal of East Asian Studies. He is the author, co-author, editor or co-editor of fifteen books. Among his recent English publications are How East Asians View Democracy (Columbia University Press, 2008) Citizens, Elections and Parties in East Asia (Lynne Reinner, 2008), Dynamics of Local Governance in China During the Reform Era (Rowman & Littlefield Pub Inc, 2010) and Democracy in East Asia: A New Century (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2013)

Vice-Chair: Dr Marta Lagos

Marta Lagos is founding director of Latinobarómetro, a yearly continental opinion survey in 18 countries in Latin America. Formerly at the head of a Chilean think tank, CERC that conducted opinion polls during transition to democracy in Chile during the 80's and 90's. Marta Lagos trained as economist in Heidelberg, Germany, is founding director of her own polling company MORI (Chile) associated with MORI UK since 1994. Marta Lagos has been in the Principal Investigator for Chile in the World Value Survey since l990, was Chair of the Scientific Committee of the WVSA from 2008 to 2014. Was member of the Steering Committee of the International Comparative Elections Studies CSES since its foundation in 1994 until 2008. Her expertise in conducting comparative survey research has lead to extensive consulting in the formation of regional opinion barometers, recently the Asian and Afro Barometers that follow the experience of the Euro- and Latinobarometer. As a result of this experience a new organization has been created. She coordinates the comparative work available from the regional barometers, Africa, Asia and Latin America and more recently the Arab world and Eurasia where 72 countries are covered. She has a very active participation in local national institutions as member of boards, and consultant to international organizations. Also member of the United Nations Public Opinion Task. Force, as well as major consultant to UNDP report on the Democracy in Latin America and World Bank and US and European Governments. Since l995 WAPOR representative for Chile, and founding member and first president of the Chilean Association of Public Opinion Research. Editor of IJPOR (Oxford University press). Dinnerman Award 2008.

Member: Professor Juan Diez Nicolas